Favorite Ad #1

This is a series where I put up my favorite advertisements.

The first one is a Volkswagen ad produced by Doyle Dane Bernbach (DDB) in 1969.

I like this ad because:

It’s funny. No less than David Ogilvy himself said that this is the funniest ad he’d ever seen.

It’s targeted. This ad appeals to fiscal conservatives. At the era of Barry Goldwater and the resurgence of the Republican Party, that’s a lot of Americans.

It’s clever. “…spent money like there was no tomorrow” = calendar.

Full transcript of the ad:

I, Maxwell E Snavely, being of sound mind and body, do hereby bequeath the following:

To my wife Rose, who spent money like there was no tomorrow…
I leave 100 dollars and a calendar.

To my sons Rodney and Victor, who spent every dime I ever gave them on fancy cars and fast women…
I leave 50 dollars, in dimes.

To my business partner Jules, whose only motto was spend, spend, spend…
I leave nothing, nothing, nothing.

And to my other friends and relatives who also never learnt the value of a dollar…
I leave a dollar.

Finally, to my nephew Harold, who oft-times said, “a penny saved is a penny earned”, and who also oft-times said, “Gee Uncle Max, it sure pays to own a Volkswagen”…
I leave my entire fortune of one hundred billion dollars.

One Response to Favorite Ad #1

  1. […] In Uncategorized on 18 May 2009 at 9:36 pm This is the third ad in the series, after the Volkswagen and Wendy’s […]

Leave a Reply

