Get a Job!

In my previous entry, There Is No Alternative To Working Hard (No, Not Even Working “Smart”, Whatever That Means), I professed my disgust with people who treat honest work with disdain, and people who seek fast money.

Some would say: What about the people who got laid off? Surely they can’t be blamed for wanting to get easy money to pay their bills? In this bad economic condition, it’s hard to get a job, and the government is not doing enough to alleviate the suffering of people who got laid off and find it difficult to land a new job. Surely they deserve some sympathy?

Whine whine whine…

Blah blah blah, government do this, government do that. Why don’t YOU, for a change, do something for yourself?

This is what I say to the people who got laid off: stop whining, and get a job. Any job.

I can say all this with a straight face is because I never beg for jobs. I have never been on a job hunt. I have attended a grand total of ONE job interview in my whole life. I don’t go around sending my CV to companies and checking JobStreet every morning.

Why? Because rather than seeking jobs, I create jobs. I have made a decision a few years ago, that I will not be at the mercy of “the management”. I wanted to be the master of my own destiny. And so I decided to be an entrepreneur.

I didn’t whine, I didn’t complain, I didn’t bang tables at coffeeshops, I didn’t write blog entries expressing my anger to the world, I didn’t cry in my mother’s arms, I didn’t go around asking my uncles during Hari Raya about jobs at their firms.

I just took whatever money I have in the bank (almost all of it) and invested in a startup. In my first year of operation, I paid salary to five full-time employees and a few part-timers. Until today, I never failed to meet a payroll.

I am not a rich person. I do not come from a rich family. I never asked a single cent from a family member to use on my business. I took out my own meager savings, calculated my risks, and learned how to run a business from other successful people. I worked hard, and now I enjoy a moderate success. I am not rich, but I don’t go to work everyday in constant fear of whether I will still have my job the next month, or whether my pay will be cut because the company is doing a “cost-cutting exercise”.

I have a low tolerance for people who whine. You, as an adult, have to be responsible for all your actions and decisions. Putting blame on others (the government, the management, the “capitalists”, Wall Street, etc) is lazy and childish.

If you are risk-averse and think that the entrepreneurial life is not for you, then the alternative is to shut up, swallow your ego, get your ass moving and go get a job.

I am sorry to be harsh, but whiners piss me off big time.

2 Responses to Get a Job!

  1. Yamin says:

    Assalamualaikum,
    ingin bertanya..
    boleh ke mahasiswa join olympiad?

  2. suhaimiramly says:

    Pertandingan olimpiad hanya untuk pelajar umur di bawah 20 tahun dan belum memasuki universiti. Harap maklum

Leave a Reply

