Stray Thoughts

Since I have not written here for almost a month, let me make up for it by posting multiple entries today. I am currently in office, waiting for the heavy rain (hurricane?) outside to subside so I can go home.

Please have a look at Fazdlee’s video blog (it’s about 10 minutes long): http://fazdleeisa.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/bitch-zilla-unleashed-longest-bitching-video-to-date-lol/

If you don’t want to spend 10 minutes listening to Fazdlee’s bitching, or if you are on dialup, let me summarize the video: an officer from MARA called Fazdlee to remind him that he already missed 3 months of student loan payment. Fazdlee then dropped by her office. She then proceeded to talk down to Fazdlee, that he made the wrong choice getting involved in business, because he will not make enough money to pay back his loans. And she criticized him for allegedly spending too much on grooming products and fashionable wardrobe (Fazdlee is not, but the officer was just being a judgmental asshole).

My response to that video: Malaysians have to learn how to mind their own business. At the age of 20, one should realize that he or she is not a child or a teenager anymore — being an adult entails having to respect other people, especially their personal rights which are none of your business. Anyone above the age of 20 who insists on infringing other people’s business should be sent to Afghanistan or to Swat Valley in Pakistan, where they are free to poke their nose in other people’s business and dictate moralities and judge people as much as they want.

I would blow my fuse if I encounter a government officer like that. Who the hell does she think she is, looking down on other people. Dear lady, we are not your nephews and nieces, we do not ask for your advice, and we sure as hell don’t APPRECIATE it if you look down on people. And don’t give us that crap about being older means you are wiser and thus can talk down to us. Go home and play with your grandchildren. And go suck egg.

Government dunces, who work their whole life pushing papers in air-cond offices, attending bullshit meetings and bullshit functions, being fed bullshit by their politician superiors, and being a dick to Malaysian citizens who pay their salary, HAVE NO BUSINESS looking down on us businesspeople who worked our asses off creating wealth in the private sector, putting employees on payroll, and benefiting the people without receiving on a single cent of aid from the government.

Isn’t MARA tagline, which appears on their official letters, KEUSAHAWANAN KERJAYA PILIHAN? Which part of KEUSAHAWANAN don’t you understand? Or do you find the phrase KERJAYA PILIHAN cryptic, and in need of an ancient muse to translate for you? KEUSAHAWANAN is my KERJAYA PILIHAN, and MARA should applaud our choice, since we are contributing to the economy of the country, or for that matter the economy of the Bumiputeras (isn’t that what your bigshots are always harping on?)

Yes, we are a small company, but we started from practically zero, no MARA money, no bank loan, no trust fund, no Datuks and Tan Sris to sign recommendation letters for us, no seed money from rich parents or uncles or aunties or grandparents. And yet we are still surviving. We never missed a single payroll — we paid all our employees, all our vendors, all our debtors, and we delivered every single promise we gave to our clients. We might not be millionaires, but we have not pocketed a single cent which is not ours.

If you are working in a large corporation, you might not appreciate this. But in our first year, we cleared more than RM400,000. That might not be a lot to you; maybe it’s the price of your parent’s house, or car. Or that is what your company spend in payroll every month. Or that is what your department spend on the annual Family Day. But for a small company which started with practically nothing, to make almost half a million in one year, is SATISFYING.

You might give Powerpoint presentations to a roomful of executives about financial strategies, with figures totaling hundreds of millions, but that’s just numbers. I can proudly look back, and say that we have made half a million of cash with our hard work. And that is in our first year of business. If I can do this in a couple more years, I’m on track to be a millionaire by age 30 (which I don’t care much about — every Tom Dick and Harry is a millionaire nowadays). I don’t take home much because I am thrifty and do not spend much on things. Whatever we made we invested back into the company rather than dividing the profits among ourselves. Thrift, savings, reinvestment, and moderate living: that’s the key to building wealth.

I am not saying that Fazdlee is guilt-free; he himself admitted his fault in missing a few installments. That is a non-issue: people missed out on payments all the time, and for a variety of reasons. I pay my bills every two months, sometimes every three, if I missed the notices. But that does not give the MARA officer any right to demean Fazdlee’s choice of career, let alone his grooming habit (the second part is just stupid. Dear MARA, did you hire your employees from the College of Judgemental Assholes?)

Let me make it clear: I love MARA. I am an “anak MARA”. I went to MRSM, and then to UiTM, with MARA scholarship. Then I went to study at MIT, again with MARA scholarship. And to top it off, MARA cleared me of any student debt upon graduation. I have utmost respect for MARA leadership (although I think they should’ve managed their finances better — I heard rumors MARA is not lending to businesses anymore because their funds are depleted). And I try to pay back in any way I can. When UiTM or MRSM invited me to give talks, I asked for a fraction of what I demanded from other institutions. And every year, I attend the Karnival Matematik MRSM, just to share my love of mathematics with the younger generation of MARA students. I love it when MARA opened MRSM to all races — they also should benefit from the generosity and experience of MRSM teachers, who are the country’s finest. I don’t mind getting my loan applications rejected by MARA (as had happened several times) because after paying my whole college education, MARA do not owe me anything anymore. I owe a lot to MARA.

But I think that MARA officer who talked down to Fazdlee, should be disciplined. It is unbecoming of a senior government officer (and she is really senior, the way Fazdlee explained it) to act like that. It is petty and childish to comment on someone’s looks just because one made a minor mistake like missing three months of installment (don’t you guys have better things to do instead?). And I’m not saying this just because Fazdlee is an old friend who happens to work with me, I am sick of government officers who behaved in an incompetent and unprofessional manner. And judgmental too. If Fadzlee can give me her address, I would send her a big mirror.

Heh, now the rain has stopped and I just realized I talked too much. So I’ll stop here. Take care all.

Leave a Reply

