Two Essays on Conservatism

May I bore you with long articles today?

I present two of my favorite pieces of political writing, which have, in no small way, influenced my thinking in politics especially on the issue of charity and government largesse:

How to Explain Conservatism to Your Squishy Liberal Friends: Individualism ‘R’ Us by P.J. O’Rourke

Davy Crockett vs. Welfare by Edward Ellis

The first piece is written by someone whom I believe is the sharpest wit writing in American politics today. P.J. O’Rourke writes on a wide variety of topics, such as politics and current events, to table manners and cars. He is also famous for penning the gonzo masterpiece “How to Drive Fast on Drugs While Getting Your Wing-Wang Squeezed and Not Spill Your Drink” (go figure). The second piece is excerpted from a biography of Davy Crockett, an American folk hero (I watched a TV series about Davy Crockett when I was a kid; I can only remember two things about him: that he died in Alamo, and that he wore some kind of animal-skin hat with a tail hanging at the back).

Leave a Reply

