MIT Class of 2015

From Malaysia:

Admitted — Tan Jiunn Wen

Waitlisted — Azman Abdulaziz, Leong Jian Wei, Samantha Siow, Jasper Koid

_______________

Congratulations to all (especially to Jian Wei and Samantha who were interviewed by me). I hope those on the waitlist will be offered, and those offered will accept. MIT, despite the slip in (irrelevant) university rankings in recent years, is still the best university in the world to learn technical subjects.

Some of my past MIT entries:

https://suhaimiramly.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/pi-day/

https://suhaimiramly.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/mit-dick-waving/

https://suhaimiramly.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/10-lessons-of-an-mit-education/

https://suhaimiramly.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/good-old-days/

https://suhaimiramly.wordpress.com/2009/03/19/my-undergraduate-days/

4 Responses to MIT Class of 2015

  1. Jasper KOID says:

    Hi Sir,

    I am Jasper, Coyin’s junior, currently studying at Concord College, UK. I am waitlisted by MIT as well 😦 Many congratulations to the only person who is admitted.

    I’d really love to study at MIT, and have planned to stay on the waiting list even if my chances are slim. I am currently holding offers for Cambridge and Caltech as well so I can afford to wait🙂 Do you have any advice for me?

    Thanks.

    Cheers,
    Jasper

    • Ong Shien Jin says:

      Jasper,

      E-mail MIT admissions informing them that you got admitted to both Caltech and Cambridge, but that MIT is your first choice. (Let them know your deadline.) Make the case on why you will benefit from an MIT education and why MIT will benefit from you being there. Write in a respectful and polite tone. I am confident the MIT admissions office will get back to you before your Cambridge/Caltech deadline (especially since you got into Caltech – congrats!)

      Best,
      Shien Jin
      MIT 2004 (Course 18)

      • Jasper KOID says:

        Hi Shien Jin,

        Thanks a lot for your advice. However, according to the official website, it says ‘We will have no idea how many people, if any, we will take from the waitlist until after the reply date of May 2.’ – which means I will have to firm a university choice already by then. However, it is still possible to withdraw from my university choice after that (though I’ll lose the deposit). But, anyway, I’ll wait until I receive the official reply slip to stay on the waitlist. I am planning to sneak in the CPW weekend with Coyin in April to see how’s MIT like for myself😀

        At this stage, I’m inclining towards Cambridge. I heard Caltech is very intense, and I would be happier at Cambridge. But I will wait until I heard from all the other universities I applied for🙂

        P/S: Is there any other possible ways for me to contact you?

        Thanks.

        Regards,
        Jasper

    • suhaimiramly says:

      A very good advice from Shien Jin; I suggest you do that.

Leave a Reply

