I love the Marx Brothers

During the cold winter spell of 2004, I visited a friend in Ann Arbor, Michigan. My friend and I, we were big-time movie buffs. Since there was nothing to do outside in the crazy snowstorm, we just stayed indoors and watched films for days on end.

Among the films we watched were the epic documentary Shoah (9 hours!), Buster Keaton and Marx Brothers films (older classics were available from the university library), and newer classics like Kramer vs Kramer, Once Upon a Time in America, and The Conversation.

My friend is more knowledgeable than I am when it comes to films, so often I had to pause the DVD to ask him the meaning of some scene, or some pop-culture reference that I missed. We probably watched more than 40 films that week. We only took a break to make solat and to order pizza delivery and to piss. We even took turns sleeping at night, so films were running continuously on the TV screen. Ahh, those were the days.

We still watch films together nowadays, but not as often as we’d like to. Last month I watched Bunohan with him. I admit I’m not deep, so I had to interrupt him many times during the film to ask the meaning of the “deep” scenes. If I watch a “deep” scene that only Mansor Putih could understand, then someone better explain it to me in plain words, or else I’ll fall asleep.

Anyway, before I go too far (it’s late at night and I have to go to bed, though I can write on and on about film), I just want to say that I love the Marx Brothers. The most famous is Groucho Marx who was a great comedian with impeccable timing, who wrote many memorable lines (“One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got into my pajamas I’ll never know”, “Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana”), but his brothers Chico and Harpo are my favorite Marx brothers.

Here’s Chico and Harpo doing their thing:

Leave a Reply

